About Us

The Small Catamaran Handicap Rating System, SCHRS is the internationally recognised system for handicapping small catamarans. It evolved over a number of years, initially from a basic rating system used in the USA from the 1960's, which the French Federation de Voile modified to become what was known in Europe as the French Catamaran Rating System in the eighties.

Around 1990 the then IYRU decided that as the World Authority, they should have their own system for Rating Small Catamarans. A Working Party was formed, and they examined various options. The main contenders at the time were the FFV System the Dutch Texel Rating System, which was another measurement based system, and which evolved in the early eighties as a result of a need to deal with the escalating number of entrants in the annual Round Texel Race.

Both systems produce rating numbers which are remarkably close. But at the time it was thought that the ability to rate daggerboards or centreboards was important and was the system chosen for what is now the International SCHRS, evolved from the French Rating System.

The ratings derive from the following core formula:

1.111 x W0.3
L0.325 x A0.41

Relationship between Texel and SCHRS

Whereas the core formula used by both Texel and SCHRS are identical, only the appendages differ

  • Spinnaker and screecher penalty
  • Board correction factor
  • Power factor
  • Sinking hull adjustment
  • Assumed crew weight
  • Foiling penalty

World Council

Jean-Claude Rouves
Pierre-Charles Barraud
Official French measurer
Olivier Bovyn
President Int. F18 Class Association
Mark Schneider
USA representative
Colin Whitehead
South Africa representative
Brian Chapman
Australian representative

Technical Committee

William Sunnucks
Chairman and Deputy Chairman UKCRA
Dave Chivers
Official UK measurer
Andrew Gallagher
Irish representative
Olly Harris
Naval Architect
Simon Longstaff
past SCHRS Chairman
Will Rottgering
USA representative
Jason Smithwick
Director RORC Rating Office
Geoff Balfre